Write About Now

Dave Ferguson wrote a great blog entry this week about a man who had never attended CCC before, but came into an inheritance and wanted to “give 10% somewhere.” The man had heard that the church was helping the community and brought a check for $2500.

I hate tithing. I do it, because I believe it’s part of my obedience to Christ, but I hate writing those checks. (Which is, of course, at least half the reason God wants me to.) So it’s pretty convicting to read that this man, who may or may not be a believer, is more generous to the Lord than I am.

March 30, 2007 - Posted by | giving & giving back, people, RM | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. “I hate tithing.” Jen, your honesty is endearing. Thank you.

    Comment by Steve Jones | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. […] give $100 one time but not 10% every week. It’s understandable (as noted earlier, I hate tithing) but our churches are […]

    Pingback by a question for pastors « Write About Now | February 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment