Write About Now

Greetings from Music City

It’s been a surreal week….. ……….. The movers carted off my stuff so I spent several days camping out in my own home, bedding down on the (dirty) carpet in a $10 camouflage sleeping bag and living out of a suitcase………Abel and Abel, the father and son combo who loaded up my furniture, have also moved Michael Jackson, several Playboy playmates, Steven Seagal (“his stuff filled up two trucks!”), and Chuck Norris. You’d think Walker, Texas Ranger would drive his own moving van, but whatever…….My next door neighbor, who has had a crush on me for three years and who I’ve tried to avoid for three years, taped a long, rambling letter on my front door asserting that we are “twin personalities.”

It’s been a frustrating week……… For one thing, Blogger isn’t working–I actually wrote this several days ago…….For another, somebody hacked into my ebay account and now I’m fighting with them to avoid paying the $50 in fees this person racked up by listing 48 box set DVDs for sale from my account…….For a third, when you call a customer service line and they ask you to punch in your account number followed by the pound sign, why does the “Customer Care Representative” still ask you for that account number when they finally come on the line? I especially enjoyed the call where I tried to transfer my long-distance service to my new Nashville number; I spent 10 minutes listening to merengue music after which Ron the CCR came back on the line to tell me I’d actually need to call back in “about a week” to complete the transaction………..The heat went out in my apartment about the same time as my furniture did, creating a chilly, this-really-is-like-camping-because-it’s-50-degrees feeling to the evenings…….While backing my car out of an unfamiliar parking spot to drive it out front for the moving van, I hit a tree. I’m not kidding…….And a few minutes later the annoying neighbor called since I hadn’t responded to his letter. “I don’t want you to leave carrying this burden of our unresolved relationship,” he said. Since I wasn’t aware we had a relationship, I assured him I was carrying no burden–and then blocked his number on my phone.

But it’s been a good week because God showed up, often through the care of other people. Friends helped me pack up my grandmother’s china, paid for me to visit a spa, mailed me a “welcome to your new home” package, and left me thoughtful, kind email and voice mail messages on Thursday and Friday as I traveled east. One let me vent a week’s worth of pent-up frustration over the phone and still invited me over for a homemade dinner. And two brave souls took me, two 50-pound bags, and a panicky cat to the airport at the crack of dawn. Last Sunday I worshipped and wept my way through my last service at the church I’ve grown to love. We sang “Enough,” my very favorite chorus, and it seemed like a message from the God who knows me so well and knows how to communicate with me.

All of You is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need. You satisfy me with your love, and all I have in You is more than enough.

No matter what this new place holds in store for me, God will be more than enough for me. Which is a good thing, actually, since Abel-squared lost one of my chairs and part of my coffee table.

March 9, 2007 - Posted by | God, life | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I have been checking this blog everyday since you got to Nashville. I know you have been overly busy but I just could not wait to read a piece of Jen’s life. I love you and miss you already. I am so glad things are “good.” It was brought to my attention this week that “good” could be the highest of quality in describing something. Everything that God made during creation was “good.” What could be better then that?

    Comment by Aunt He He | March 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. Now that Blogger is working, I’ll be posting much more often. I miss you too my “good” friend.

    Comment by Jen | March 15, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi! My mom sent me a link to your post. I know exactly how you feel. I recently moved across the Atlantic and struggled with moving on, missing friends and the frustrations of moving…but as you noticed, God provides and that has been the most encouraging thing to see.

    Comment by Emily | March 15, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m so glad you paired the Enough lyric with noting that God showed up frequently in your week through other people. He IS enough; he often works through people. We need God; we need people. Interesting paradoxes, but he’s the source of it all. Many blessings on your new life! Write often!

    Comment by diane | March 19, 2007 | Reply

  5. I hope that you enjoy Nashville. I lived there for 6 years and really liked the place. There are some great churches, and a lot things to do. In the summer they used to hold concerts on the waterfront. It was mostly country,but onetime they did have Jar’s of Clay.

    -Malsteem

    Comment by Anonymous | March 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment